The best topic

Replies: 10390
Total votes: : 4

Last post: Today at 08:17:10 AM
Re: Forum gossip thread by Garraty_47

Re: Canadians Losing Faith In Their Democracy

Started by Gary Oak, December 04, 2012, 11:42:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 2 Window Lickers are viewing this topic.

Romero

Quote from: "Obvious Li"the fact they take my money and give it to slugs like EU and Homero is both tragic and insulting

The government is paying you to sit on your ass. EU and I work for a living and we're helping pay you to sit on your ass.

"But but but I've paid into my entitlements and I deserve them."

So has the average welfare recipient.

The unemployed shouldn't be allowed to vote.

Anonymous

Quote from: "Obvious Li"
Quote from: "Romero"That's funny. Singapore is a western liberal democracy. And it's a city state. Being prime minister of Singapore is like being the mayor of Oslo. Two successful western democratic cities.

People unemployed for long periods of time. You mean people like Obvious Li? Welfare recipients. Individual or corporate?

Criminals, crazies and junkies I understand. We all do. But you're crazy if you think we should all just start restricting rights to people who we personally deem undesirable. Citizens who are "unemployed for too long"? A single parent who went on welfare for a couple of weeks before they got a good job? And how do we decide who's a crazy or junkie?  

What you're thinking of isn't democracy. In a democracy, voting is a right.

Canadian women got the right to vote in 1919. Chinese Canadians got the right to vote in 1947. Now we all have the right to vote.