Last post: Today at 04:37:30 PM
Re: Forum gossip thread by Lokmar

A

Why do you work?

Started by Anonymous, December 06, 2015, 05:45:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

keeper

Anonymous

Quote from: "Keeper"You do contract work?

I am a consultant. Some people call us the engineer, but I am no engineer. I am the company rep on the lease. I can do drilling and completions.

You do know what I mean?

keeper

I certainly do, Im used to dealing with you guys. I worked with all the big boys in Fort Mcmoney.  I was actually working with Tim Hortons trying to get a mobile trailer on Syncrudes site.

Anonymous

Quote from: "Keeper"I certainly do, Im used to dealing with you guys. I worked with all the big boys in Fort Mcmoney.  I was actually working with Tim Hortons trying to get a mobile trailer on Syncrudes site.

Fort McMurray is a lot different from a conventional rig though. I have drilled and completed heavy oil wells, but not oilsands.

reel

I like my work, but I'm pretty much on the retirement track now.  I think another 7 - 8 years and I'll be done.  I'll also be ready to be done.

After that, I'll do bits and pieces of work for fun.

Anonymous

Quote from: "reel"I like my work, but I'm pretty much on the retirement track now.  I think another 7 - 8 years and I'll be done.  I'll also be ready to be done.

After that, I'll do bits and pieces of work for fun.

I'm winding it down too reel. I am working a lot less this year not by choice, but I am happy anyway. I feel for the younger ones that are not as established as I am.

RW

Retirement is hard gents.

Just warning you.
Beware of Gaslighters!

Anonymous

Quote from: "RW"Retirement is hard gents.

Just warning you.

I will have my farm to look after and that will be enough I hope.

RW

What kind of farm?

Do you have any llamas?
Beware of Gaslighters!

reel

Llamas are evil!

I have a very large diversity of interests, so I've never really been one to find difficulty in keeping myself occupied.