News:

SMF - Just Installed!

The best topic

Replies: 10410
Total votes: : 4

Last post: Today at 07:12:59 AM
Re: Forum gossip thread by DKG

So Herman, what was your past occupation(s)?

Started by JOE, July 05, 2016, 01:19:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 5 Window Lickers are viewing this topic.

JOE

...were you one of those guys who worked on the rig?

Lifting up the drill, positioning it?

http://i.cbc.ca/1.3618777.1465256441!/cpImage/httpImage/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/original_620/mexico-oil.jpg">

Is that what they call the 'roughnecks' or less flattering...the 'rig pig'?

Give us the details.

I'm interested to know what goes on in the rigs, what the working conditions are like, the hours, etc.

Anonymous

That is a huge rig floor Joe..

You can't even see the dog house..

My husband's company installs and maintains the top drives on drilling rigs.

Anonymous

I started out as a leasehand on a small double drilling rig right after I graduated from high school. I moved up to roughneck and graduated to motors by the time my first spring break came around. It was a long spring break up, so I went to a service rig contractor that was working around Kindersley. I did that for one year and was already a derrick hand and relief operator. I went back to drilling rigs as a motor hand and quickly moved up the stick. Went to big triples working in the Peace country as a derrick man and they had me relief drilling. Passed my first line well control and BOP tickets at Enform and got my own rig. I drilled for 3 years, including one overseas and started relief pushing. I passed my second line well control certs. Our toolpush died of a heart attack and I became a full time rig manager. I did that for 5 years, 4 of them overseas and came back to Canada as a consultant or drilling supervisor. I have been doing that ever since.