The best topic

Replies: 7027
Total votes: : 3

Last post: Today at 03:27:31 AM
Re: Forum gossip thread by Frood

Money Sense

Started by Anonymous, August 20, 2015, 08:46:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 3 Window Lickers are viewing this topic.

Anonymous

<t>I'm sorry to those that intend to vote for the NDP in October. People have their reasons for voting for whatever party they wish. Maybe there are planks or their platform you think will be beneficial to the nation. But, I work in the financial services industry. My job is to make sure your money is working for you. Unfortunately, an NDP victory will make my job more difficult.

The bulk of the TSX is made of financials/banking and resource companies. Financials and energy together account for almost 60 per cent, and important sectors such as health care, tech and consumer staples are under 5 per cent. The NDP has an ideological bias against resource extraction even though that has made Canada the envy of the world. There was a negative market reaction to the NDP victory in Alberta. There will be an even bigger and longer one if the NDP wins federally in October. It doesn't help that September and October are the most volatile months for the markets.

1. If you are among the millions of Canadians who has TFSA, you know it must be invested in Canadian companies. However, there are so many ways around that. If you purchase it through your Canadian bank and they put Apple shares in your portfolio that counts as Canadian content.

2. Take as little risk as possible. I have a client that has a conservative growth mutual fund that he bought in September that has earned over 2% since then. It is only 30% Canadian content. The US market being much more diverse than any other in the world helps insulate Canadian investors from a slide in resources.