Replies: 10399
Total votes: : 4

Last post: Today at 03:39:45 PM
Re: Forum gossip thread by Biggie Smiles

What I learned in school

Started by shin, March 25, 2017, 06:57:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shin

I was thinking the other day that I might have gone further in life if I were more disciplined as opposed to smarter.

Then, I thought about the old saying, "It's not what you know, it's who you know" and how proximity often shapes our relationships.

Then, I thought about what the teachers were actually teaching us in those crowded classrooms, and how so little of it comes into play in my life.

"What did you learn in school today?"

kiebers

Math was critical to me. Not because I was an accountant but because it teaches logic as well. Obviously being able to read was critical but probably the smartest course I took that has aided me as much as the other two was typing. Using a keyboard and using it correctly has been something I have used the majority of my life. Schools can't teach common sense so that was on my own....LOL
I've learned that if someone asks you a really stupid question and you reply by telling them what time it is, they'll leave you alone

RW

School gets such little credit for what we actually know.  Such a shame.
Beware of Gaslighters!

UncleDilf

Making 200 - 250K a month. Entrepreneur and business owner.

School was shit. What brings you biology or math now? It was more of a pain!

In 2004 my tech teacher said to invest heavily in  Google. The rest is history.

I sold many startups to some media groups and tech giants.

Anonymous

Unlike everyone else here, I never attended a physical school building..

We had one portable on the church property for grades 7-12 and kindergarten to grade 6 was inside in the church basement..

No library, no gym, no science labs, no music room, it was like the 1930's in rural Canada..